God is able, we are not

I have been struggling to keep my head above water with three of my four little ones ill. There are times like this that we realize that truly who we need to rely on is Jesus for strength to keep going.

Though we are so tired and weary, just trying to make it day by day God truly can restore our energy and gives us enough to keep going. Sometimes we don’t understand just what is going on in our lives, but he is the Great Author. He has our path laid out in front of us. We just need to trust in Him and where he is leading us.

Trust is a tough thing for most of us. I remember at another point in my life that was filled with turmoil and struggles, my good Christian friends would say to me, “God won’t give you more then you can handle”. This would frustrate me to no end and I wanted to yell at them, that yes he does! This is well beyond what I can handle! I believe God does give us more then we can handle just so that we rely on Him. Because through him we can do anything. (:13New King James Version (NKJV)
13 I can do all things through Christ[a] who strengthens me.). Nowhere in the bible does it say that He won’t give us more then we can handle. It is a really nice thought and whether it came from misuse of 1 Corinthians 10:13 (No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.) it is just not true. Most people have to get to a point where they know they can’t go on alone and that they need God. If He really didn’t give us more then we could handle then we wouldn’t really need Him, would we.

The bible is filled with promises of love, peace and comfort through Him. Jeremiah 29:11
(11 For I know the plans that I [a]have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.) is a prime example of the promise He has for each of us.
And There are so many…
The next time you feel you are sinking just remember Jesus is right there with his hand outstretched to you. All you have to do is take His hand with repentance and thankfulness in your heart.

Leave a Reply

